Useful Links & Information

It isn’t always easy to find practical information whether local or national.  Here are some key organisations that you can contact if you require some specialised support or information.

THE SAMARITANS

(All lines 24 hours) National ~ 08457 90 90 90 www.samaritans.org
Portsmouth 296 London Road, Portsmouth, PO2 9JN, ~ 023 92 69 13 13 www.samaritans.org/portsmouth
Bognor Regis 13 Argyle Road, Bognor Regis, PO21 1DY, ~ 01243 826 333 www.samaritans.org/bognor

If you are concerned for your own safety or the safety of a friend or family member you can also go to your local A&E where you will find the crisis team on hand.

ABUSE, RAPE AND DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Women’s Aid ~ 0808 2000 247 (National 24 hour) www.womensaid.org.uk
Mankind ~ 01823 334 244 (National) www.mankind.org.uk
Men’s Advice Line ~ 0808 801 0327 (National) http://www.mensadviceline.org.uk/mens_advice.php
Portsmouth Area Rape Crisis www.parcs.org.uk
02392 66 9511 (Women) 02392 66 9516 (Men)
The Lifecentre Chichester ~ 0844 847 7879 www.lifecentre.uk.com
Survivors UK (Male Rape & Sexual Abuse) ~ 0845 122 1201 www.survivorsuk.org
Respect (Male & Female Perpertrators of Domestic Violence) ~ 0808 802 4040 http://www.respect.uk.net/
National Centre for Domestic Violence ~ (National 24 hour) ~ freephone 0800 970 20 27 or emergency no. 0844 8044 999 www.ncdv.org.uk
If you are concerned for your safety please contact the Police on 999

ADDICTIONS

Drinkaware www.drinkaware.co.uk
Alcohlics Anonymous ~ 0845 769 7555 www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk
Al Anon & Alateen (Support for families) ~ 020 7403 0888 www.al-anonuk.org.uk
Talk to Frank ~ 0800 77 6600 www.talktofrank.com
Cocaine Anonymous ~ 0800 612 0225 www.cauk.org.uk
Gambling Anonymous www.gamblersanonymous.org.uk
Gamcare ~ 0845 6000 133 www.gamcare.org.uk

BEREAVEMENT

Cruse Bereavement ~ 0844 477 9400 www.crusebereavementcare.org.uk
Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide ~ 0844 561 6855 (Daily 9am – 9pm) www.uk-sobs.org.uk
The Miscarriage Association ~ 01924 200 799 (Mon-Fri 9am – 4pm) www.miscarriageassociation.org.uk
The Stillbirth and Neonatal Death Society ~ 0207 436 5881 (Mon-Fri 9.30am – 5.30pm Tues & Thurs eve 6pm – 10pm) www.uk-sands.org

CARERS

The Carers Trust ~ 0844 800 4361 www.carers.org
Carers UK ~ 0808 808 7777 www.carersuk.org
Carers Support West Sussex ~ 01243 537 011 www.carerssupportservice.org.uk
Portsmouth Carers ~ 02392 756 780 / 02392 851 864 www.portsmouthcarers.org
Carer Centre (Hampshire) ~ 01264 835246/835205 www.carercentre.com

DEPRESSION

The Depression Alliance ~ 0845 123 2320 www.depressionalliance.org

EATING DISORDERS

B-EAT www.b-eat.co.uk
Adult Help Line ~ 0845 634 1414 (Mon-Fri 10.30am – 8.30pm, Sat 1pm – 4.30pm)
Young Person’s Line (25 & under) ~ 0845 634 7650 (Mon-Fri 4.30pm – 8.30pm, Sat as above)

MENTAL HEALTH

Mind ~ 0300 123 3393 www.mind.org.uk
Young Minds ~ 0808 802 5544 www.youngminds.org.uk

MINDFULNESS

Be Mindful www.bemindful.co.uk

PANIC, ANXIETY AND STRESS

No More Panic www,nomorepanic.co.uk
Anxiety UK ~ 0844 775 774 www.anxietyuk.org.uk
The Stress Management Society ~ 0800 327 7697 www.stress.org.uk

SELF HELP

Get Self Help www.getselfhelp.co.uk
Help Guide www.helpguide.org